Our Journey

The story started over 20 years ago when brothers Alan and Brian Kerr founded the North Ayrshire Young Musician Competition. It has flourished ever since under the stewardship of Mae Murray and over 20,000 young musicians have enjoyed taking part. From this grew the idea for Scottish Young Musicians, a festival that gives young people across Scotland the opportunity to compete and develop their talent in music.

MEPG and Our People

The Music Education Partnership Group (MEPG) oversees the running of the Scottish Young Musicians Competitions.  MEPG is a registered charity and members organisation which brings together stakeholders in music and education across Scotland. It aims to tackle inequity, help young people to realise their potential and challenge perceptions of music education.

Within MEPG is a wealth of experience not just in music but in running competitions: 

  • John Wallace CBE, Convenor of MEPG and former Principal of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.
  • Mae Murray, Administrator of the SYM, managed the North Ayrshire Young Musician competition for 20 years.
  • Ian Mills, MEPG Chair, coordinator of the Rotary Great Britain & Ireland Young Musician Competition.
  • Alan Kerr, Scottish Young Musicians Chair, and trustee of The Academy of St Martin in the Fields.
  • Laura Gardiner, Foundation Director, Benedetti Foundation.
  • Bridget Whyte, CEO of Music Mark, a membership organisation supporting, connecting, and influencing within Music Education.
  • David Francis, Director, Traditional Music Forum.
  • Dr Gordon Munro, Director of Music, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.
  • Ian McKay, Independent Adviser.
  • Jack Nissan, Director of Tinderbox Collective.
  • Julie Carrie, YMI Coordinator East Ayrshire and representative of the Scottish Association for Music Education.
  • Kirk Richardson, Convener EIS Instrumental Teachers Network.
  • Lio Moscardini, Independent Education Consultant and Researcher, Lecturer Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.
  • Lord Vallance of Tummel, Vice President, and former Chairman of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.
  • Shonagh Stevenson, Chair, Head of Instrumental Teaching Scotland (HITS), Education Support Officer (Music Service) South Ayrshire Council.
  • Thursa Sanderson, OBE, Chief Executive, Drake Music Scotland.
  • Maureen Morrison, Cellist, Trustee of The William Syson Foundation.
  • Mathew Chinn, Associate Head of the Junior Conservatoire Music.
  • Willie Deighan, Leadership Consultant.

Find out more about MEPG >>

NYoS_40thAnniversaryRCH_013.jpg NYoS_40thAnniversaryRCH_013.jpg