Support us

Support us

Help us support the next generation of musical talent 

Scottish Young Musicians is an opportunity for young musicians to push their skills to the next level, take on new challenges and achieve their ambitions. Taking part in competitions has many benefits. We provide an environment where young talent can flourish. Through the competition, our participants grow in confidence, develop their skills, make new connections and have a lot of fun!

SYM is made possible through the support of its funders and donors. We receive no local or central government support and rely on individual donors, corporate donors and trusts and foundations for all our funding.

Your donations make a real difference to the lives of our young people across Scotland. 


Fund Your Local Authority Competition 

It costs only £1,000 to fund the local authority competition in your area. This covers all the schools in the authority and provides central support. 

By funding your local competition, you will be supporting the next generation of musical talent to achieve their ambitions and develop their skills. Your donation will link you or your company to this inspiring project and demonstrate your commitment to making positive change for Scotland's young people. Email us today to find out more — we would love to hear from you.


We are enormously grateful for the generous support of the following Individuals, Companies, Trusts and Foundations:

Founding Donor

William Syson Foundation logo

Keynote Donors

  • Colin McLean & Margaret Lawson
  • Declan Doogan
  • Hugh Fraser Foundation
  • Alan Kerr
  • Walter Scott Giving Group
  • Anonymous Individuals


Walter Scott and Partners logo.jpg

Wright & Crawford Solicitors logo.jpg

Orcome Trust logo
  • Anonymous
  • David & June Gordon Memorial Trust
  • The Inverclyde Trust
  • Jimmie Cairncross Charitable Trust
  • Dr Ursula Jones OBE
  • Leng Charitable Trust
  • Jim Mellon
  • In Memory of Bobby Mitchell
  • In Memory of Vivienne Bailey
  • Miss Jean Ryeburn Stirrat's CT
  • The Jasmine Macquaker CF
  • Nicky Pritchett-Brown
  • RJ Larg Family Trust
  • The Rhona Reid Charitable Trust
  • The Samuel Gardner Memorial Trust
  • The Stevenston Charitable Trust
  • The Tay Charitable Trust
  • Lord Vallance of Tummel

Music Partners


Band Supplies logo

Benedetti Foundation

The Cornershop PR

Cumnock Tryst logo

Dunedin Consort logo

Haydock Music logo

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Royal Scottish National Orchestra

Scottish Chamber Orchestra logo

Scottish Ensemble

Stringers of Edinburgh logo

Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance

The Wind Section logo square

Valued Supporters

  • Nicola Benedetti CBE
  • Hamish Buchan
  • Julie Carrie
  • Matthew Chinn
  • Peter Dart (for Branding Advice)
  • Laura Gardiner
  • Miloš Karadaglic
  • Adam Lee
  • Scott Lygate
  • Sir James MacMillan CBE
  • Ian Mills
  • Maureen Morrison
  • Lio Moscardini
  • Jane Nicolson (for Media Support)
  • Kirk Richardson
  • Graham Sheffield CBE
  • Alexander Stoddart FRSE (for The Maid of Morven Trophy)
  • Virgin Money
  • John Wallace CBE

Scottish Young Musicians Team

  • Aileen Douthwaite, Development
  • Alan Kerr, Chair
  • Hannah Knox, PR and Digital Support
  • Isabel Marwick, Admin Support
  • Mae Murray, General Manager
  • Edward McCardle, Financial Controller
  • Paula McWilliams, Admin Support
  • Paul Wood, Development

The William Syson Foundation is delighted to support Scottish Young Musicians in the launch of these competitions. The musical education of thousands of young people will be enriched as a result and we know that our financial contribution will give excellent value for money.

Maureen Morrison
Cellist, Trustee of The William Syson Foundation

NYOS_JROrchNicolaBenedetti_117.jpg NYOS_JROrchNicolaBenedetti_117.jpg